Skip to main content

Guide: SRUC Archives: Home

SRUC Archives aims to identify, preserve and make accessible records relating to SRUC and its predessessors.

SRUC Archives

Search our catalogue

You can search our 'SRUC Archive' (link below):

Archives

SRUC Archives

SRUC's Archive holds a great deal of historical material relating to the college and it predecessors which dates back to the late 19th century. These records contain useful information about its development, research, history, staff and students. In addition they provide a rich history about the wider transformation of agriculture and rural education practice since the late 19th century.

SRUC’s records are an excellent resource for researchers, staff and students of agriculture, horticulture and land sciences. They are also of significant value to family and local historians.

Our main collections include the records of:

  • The East of Scotland College of Agriculture (ESCA)
  • The North of Scotland College of Agriculture (NOSCA)
  • The West of Scotland College of Agriculture (WSAC)
  • Barony Agricultural College
  • Elmwood Agricultural College
  • Oatridge Agricultural College
  • Scottish Agricultural Colleges (SAC)
  • Scotland's Rural College (SRUC)

Enquiries/Access to our collections

Currently access to our archival materials is limited. We are working to sort and catalogue materials to make them more accessible. We will regularly update this page to make you aware of any progress we have made.

In the meantime, we are happy to answer any enquiries you have regarding our collections, or the history of the Scottish Colleges of Agriculture. This may include:

  • providing facts/figures

  • carrying out basic research

  • advising on the suitability of our collections and suggesting other relevant repositories/resources which are available

Please contact us at: archives@sruc.ac.uk