Skip to main content

Guide: Research Support: Home

Welcome

The Library offers the services detailed below to support all our researchers across SRUC, whether you are a PhD student, an early career researcher or a well-established academic.

 Any queries/ requests can be directed to researchlibrarysupport@sruc.ac.uk or your local campus library.

Using the Collections

You can borrow 25 items at any one time from across any SRUC library (subject to local requirements), no matter which campus you are based at. Search the 'library catalogue' (link below).

 Further details on using the Libraries can be found here

SRUC also has a range of electronic resources for you to access: e-journals, e-books and databases. Search across all e-resources on our 'e-resources search engine' (link below) or see our 'A-Z list of databases'.

 Further details on using the electronic resources can be found here

Document Supply

We can supply copies and loans of material you may need which are not available within SRUC. Consult the 'Inter-Library Loans pages' (link below) on the SRUC website for further details:

Access to Other Libraries

There are schemes and agreements in place to allow you to access non-SRUC libraries and their resources. Consult the SRUC Library website for further information (link below):

Information Skills Development

Library staff can provide tailored training and support on a one-to-one basis or for your research team on a range of topics. These include an introduction to our Repository, open access and the REF, overviews of print and electronic collections, guidance in the use of specific e-resources and training on locating, accessing and organising information.

 Contact: researchlibrarysupport@sruc.ac.uk to arrange a session.

Current Awareness

To keep on top of new literature being published in your field, you can sign up for alerts from our databases and table of contents services.

Database search alerts

You can set up search alerts to provide automatic email notification whenever new search results become available relating to a previous database search you have performed. This service is available on 'Web of Science', 'CAB Direct' (links below) and most individual publisher platforms.

Journal content alerts

Tables of contents alerts can be set up to provide automatic email notification of the contents of the latest issues of selected journals. This means that you can check the latest contents to see if there are any articles that cover your research topic.

'Journal TOCs' (link below) is a good resource for setting up alerts. It provides free access to the tables of contents from a choice of thousands of academic journals.

Print Subscriptions

SRUC Libraries subscribe to a number of different print only journals. To keep up to date with material in these journals, we can offer a regular email update of key headlines and relevant articles in your research area.

 Contact researchlibrarysupport@sruc.ac.uk to discuss your requirements.

Open Access

Open Access (OA) is making research publications freely available online for any users to download, copy, print or link to the full text without restriction, as long as the authors are properly acknowledged and cited. It helps research outputs become more widely read, cited and used.There are two main routes to make your work Open Access - the free self-archiving Green route and the paid Gold route

We can support you with all aspects of OA - publishing, deposit in our institutional repository,finding OA material, meeting the REF and funder OA requirements.

 Full details can be found at http://sruc.libguides.com/openaccess

RCUK Funded Research

If you are funded by RCUK, there are open access requirements that you must comply with when publishing your research. Additional financial support is available for the publishing of your resulting research papers as Gold OA.

 Full details can be found at http://sruc.libguides.com/rcukfunding

SRUC Repository

This is our institutional repository (IR) and offers you a free green route of making your research outputs open access.

Where possible, the IR stores the full text of items in a digital format in line with any publisher copyright requirements and has hyperlinks to the final published versions. You can search and browse the IR using the link below.
 
To add your work to the 'SRUC Repository' (link below), you must complete the 'submission form' on the intranet with the details of publication and a copy of the accepted manuscript at the point of acceptance.  Full instructions can be found in our 'How to deposit' guide (link below).
 

 Visit: www.sruc.ac.uk/srucrepository or email: openaccess@sruc.ac.uk for more information.

ORCID IDs

SRUC recommend that you register for an 'ORCID iD' if you are involved in research and are publishing the outputs of your research. It is also a good idea to register if you are starting your research career or if you are a postgraduate student who may be publishing as part of your PhD research.  

An ORCID iD is a unique persistent identifier that distinguishes you from every other researcher and ensures that your work is correctly attributed  by linking you to your professional activities, grants, publications and outputs.

 More information including on how to register and use your iD can be found at http://sruc.libguides.com/orcid

Research Data Management

This is becoming an essential element of academic practice as an increasing number of funders include RDM in their policies and requirements.

 Slides/ handouts from a workshop held at KB, run by the Digital Curation Centre (DCC) - “Managing your Research Data: an Introduction to RDM” can be found here .

Further information on RDM can be found on the 'Digital Curation Centre' website (link below).