This page gives you guidance on how to add your works to your ORCID profile using the three available methods:
There is a variety of import wizards that offer automatic importing of records relating to your research outputs from linked databases.
To use the search and link functions, choose Search and Link from the 'Add Works' dropdown menu in the Works area of your profile.
You will be offered a choice of databases to link to. Choose the one that is most appropriate for your subject area and type of output.
Clicking on the downward arrow on the right of each database will show a brief description of the content.
Once you've chosen, select the system from the list and you will be asked to authorise it.
You will then be able to identify works in that system that are yours and that you would like transferred to your record. Each system behaves a little differently, and there may be a couple of intermediate steps not described here.Once you have selected the works you would like to display on your profile, they will be imported.
Further instructions on how to import works via searching and linking are available from 'ORCID Help' pages (link below):
Once you have linked to other databases or identifiers, the information will appear as links on your ORCID profile. This will help others to find, read and possibly cite your work.
You can also choose to import your works from 'Google Scholar' or 'Mendeley' (links below) using a BibTeX file.
To do this, choose Import BibTeX from the Add works menu in the Works section of your profile, and import the file.
Detailed instructions on how to do this are available on the ORCID Help Pages (link below).
If your research outputs are not available in online databases, you can add the details manually.
To do this, choose Add manually from Add works menu in the Works area of your profile and complete the form to describe a work.
Full instructions are available in the 'ORCID Help' pages (link below):
By importing from a database, the record in your profile is more likely to be correct and may have a DOI link and a link to the record in the appropriate bibliographic database.
The source of the record is also shown - in this example Scopus to ORCID linking.
|
|
The record can be expanded by clicking on the grey arrow in the top right corner. This shows the full citation, when there record was added to the ORCID profile and any coauthors.
There are lots of tools that let you import your works automatically from other databases. The full list is available at ORCID.
These are the most useful:
Full instructions are available on the 'ORCID Help' pages (link below):
If you have any questions about ORCID or would like assistance or further information, you can contact researchlibrarysupport@sruc.ac.uk.
