1. What is an eJournal?
Any journal that is available over the Internet can be called an 'electronic journal' or "eJournal". In some cases, print equivalents exist; in some cases, not. Some eJournals are freely available; others have access mechanisms of different types.
2. What relationship is there with print journals?
An eJournal may:
All eJournals accessed from the A-Z list within the SRUC library guides pages, contain full text articles.
3. How can I access eJournals?
All the eJournals available to you as an SRUC student or member of staff, can be accessed via the A-Z listing on the SRUC library guides pages.
4. How can I find the full text of articles online?
To find the full-text of articles online, it is recommended that you search 'SNIFFER' (Library’s e-Resource search engine); which searches all of our subscribed material. Identify relevant articles that you would like to view and follow the links through to the full text. You can also search CAB and Web of Science which are abstract databases – once you’ve identified relevant articles that you’d like to view, click on the SFX icon to link through to the full text if available.
The SRUC library's online databases are listed within the A-Z listing on the SRUC library guides pages.
5. Do I need a username and password to access eJournals?
Almost all of our electronic journals can be accessed directly when on campus. A very limited number require a resource-specific username and password. This is indicated by a padlock icon on the A-Z list. Details of the username and password can be obtained by contacting a member of library staff.
6. Can I access eJournals off campus?
EJournals are available off campus using the 'Remote Desktop' or logging in to the journal using the Shibboleth, Institutional, or Federation login link and your Institutional login details when prompted.
7. Do I have to pay to access the full text of articles?
All of the journals listed on the SRUC library A-Z list of eJournals should provide access to SRUC students and staff free of charge. If you are prompted for your credit card details, or receive a message that a subscription is required to view the full text, it is likely that SRUC library does not have a subscription to the title and access is denied. Some journals are available on an Open Access basis making them free to all.
8. Do I need special software to access articles?
Most full text journal articles are available in pdf format. As a result you must have Adobe Acrobat Reader installed on your PC. Adobe Acrobat Reader is installed on all SRUC thin client terminals.
9. Can I print articles?
You can print articles from full text journals but please remember that copyright legislation applies. The "fair dealing" provision in copyright law permits individuals engaged in research or private study to print only limited contents of a journal issue.
If you have problems printing an article or only blank pages appear, it is likely that you have used the Print function in your browser rather than in the pdf document.
10. Can I download articles?
The Save function within the pdf document will save the article to a file, but please remember that copyright legislation applies. The "fair dealing" provision in copyright law permits individuals engaged in research or private study to download only limited contents of a journal issue., see above
The eJournals subscribed to by the SRUC library are also subject to licence agreements with the publishers who produce them. The conditions of licences with individual publishers and information providers vary, but they always prohibit downloading a substantial part of a database or the entire contents of a publication (e.g. an entire issue of an e-journal).
11. Who can I contact if I'm still having problems?
If you require any further help with eJournals, please contact a member of library staff for assistance.