Skip to main content

Subject Guide: Animal & Biological Sciences: Home

Welcome

Welcome to the 'Animal & Biological Sciences' Subject Guide.

Books

Search the library catalogue for books using title, author or keyword searching.  The catalogue gives the location and shelfmark for printed books.   

Ebooks are also accessible via the library catalogue.

Shelfmarks relevant to this subject are:

 Animal Science  636
 Biochemistry  572
 Biology  570
 Cell Biology  571.6
 Crops  633
 Ecology  577
 Food Science  664
 Microbiology  579
 Plant Physiology  571.2
 Soils  631.4

 

Library OPAC

Do you need access to the library catalogue fast?

© Spykster (2011), CC BY 2.0

(Click on the image link above, to access the library catalogue)

Journals

Print journals are arranged alphabetically by title on the library shelves, older volumes may be held in the stack.  All journal titles are listed on the library catalogue.

Electronic journals are also listed on the library catalogue – click the link on the catalogue record to access the resource.

If you do not have a specific journal title or wish to search for journal articles on a topic, use a database. Find these on the Moodle library page.

Search for eResources

Library's eResource search engine.

© Eldar Vagapov (2006), CC BY 2.0

(Click on the image link above, to search for eResources)

Be smart - remember your card

You will need your matriculation card to borrow books from the Library.

© SRUC 2019

Databases

There are a number of databases that you can use, to search for resources in your subject area:

Databases - Help?

 Consult the help pages on the SRUC website if you need further help and advice about accessing SRUC databases.

Links to 'help pages' for individual databases, can be found here:

Internet Resources

References

References for images included within this guide:

Eldar Vagapov (2006) I am watching you. [Online] Available at: https://www.flickr.com/photos/eldar/124592780/ (Accessed: 11 October 2019).

SAC Consulting (2018) The farm management handbook 2018/19. [Online] Available at: https://www.fas.scot/downloads/farm-management-handbook-2018-19/ (Accessed: 11 October 2019).

Spykster (2011) Books – then and now. [Online] Available at: https://www.flickr.com/photos/spykster/6405337533/ (Accessed: 9 October 2019).

SRUC (2019) Daisy-Moo Cow matriculation card. [Graphic] Edinburgh: SRUC.

US Department of Education (2009) Duke_Ellington 93. [Online] Available at: https://www.flickr.com/photos/departmentofed/9607149851 (Accessed: 11 October 2019).

Biological Sciences (Image)

Farm Management Handbook

The latest edition of the 'Farm Management Handbook' is now available online:

© SAC Consulting (2018)

(Click on the image link above, to access)

Shelfmark

Each book has a shelfmark, which is a combination of numbers and letters. 

Break this down in to sections, to make it easier to find the book you are looking for:

 

 Contact your local SRUC library for more information.

Cite Them Right

Need help with referencing?  Check out:

Pears, R. and Shields, G. (2016) Cite them right: the essential  referencing guide. 10th edn. Basingstoke: Palgrave Macmillan.

Online Tutorials

There are a number of online tutorials available for you to work through at your own pace.

© US Department of Education (2009), CC BY 2.0

(Click on the image link above, to access Online Tutorials)