Skip to main content

Subject Guide: Agriculture: Home

Welcome

Welcome to the 'Agriculture' Subject Guide.

Books

Search the library catalogue for books using title, author or keyword searching.  The catalogue gives the location and shelfmark for printed books.   

Ebooks are also accessible via the library catalogue.

Shelfmarks relevant to this subject are:

 Agriculture  630
 Animal Science  636
 Animal Welfare  636.0832
 Business Management  658
 Crops  633
 Farm Buildings  690
 Farm Machinery  631.3
 Farm Management  630.68
 Health & Safety  344.047
 Organic Farming  631.584
 Soils  631.4

 

Library OPAC

Do you need access to the library catalogue fast?

(Click on the image link above, to access the library catalogue)

Journals

Print journals are arranged alphabetically by title on the library shelves, older volumes may be held in the stack.  All journal titles are listed on the library catalogue.

Electronic journals are also listed on the library catalogue – click the link on the catalogue record to access the resource.

If you do not have a specific journal title or wish to search for journal articles on a topic, use a database. Find these on the Moodle library page.

Search for eResources

Library's eResource search engine.

(Click on the image link above, to search for eResources)

Cite Them Right

Need help with referencing?  Check out:

Pears, R. and Shields, G. (2016) Cite them right: the essential  referencing guide. 10th edn. Basingstoke: Palgrave Macmillan.

Databases

There are a number of databases that you can use, to search for resources in your subject area:

Databases - Help?

 Consult the help pages on the SRUC website if you need further help and advice about accessing SRUC databases.

Links to 'help pages' for individual databases, can be found here:

eResources

There are some additional electronic resources available, which you may also find useful:

Internet Resources

Agriculture (Image)

Farm Management Handbook

The latest edition of the 'Farm Management Handbook' is now available online:

(Click on the image link above, to access)

Shelfmark

Each book has a shelfmark, which is a combination of numbers and letters. 

Break this down in to sections, to make it easier to find the book you are looking for:

 

 Contact your local SRUC library for more information.

Be smart - remember your card

You will need your matriculation card to borrow books from the Library.